Choosing an Engagement Ring in Dallas? What You Should Know about Grading

When making a buying decision for an engagement ring in Dallas, you need to know who graded the diamond. Of the five primary labs that certify diamonds, the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) and The European Gemological Laboratory (EGL) are used the most. The USA-based GIA is the more stringent of the two. Therefore, if you want to buy a customized engagement ring, you want your diamond to be GIA-certified.

A Leading Diamond Authority

The GIA, first established in 1931, is the leading authority on gemology in the world. The gemological authority is located in all the primary diamond cities across the globe. Some of these cities include Antwerp, Moscow, New York, Bangkok and Tokyo. The GIA is the force behind standardizing the grading of gems by the four Cs, or color, clarity, cut and carat weight.

The EGL – A Quick Introduction

The EGL was founded in 1974. Like the GIA, it is known throughout the world. The diamond authority is known for introducing grading methods for diamonds whose weight is under a carat, as well as for establishing an “S13” grade for clarity.

Again, when it comes to grading, the EGL is more lenient in its approach than GIA. Therefore, consumers who buy GIA-certified gems feel more confident that their diamond purchase for an engagement ring is more valuable. While both organizations are consulted when diamonds or gems are purchased, most consumers place their confidence in the GIA.

With that being said, both the GIA and EGL do agree that color should be defined in three categories:

  • Colorless – D, E, and F
  • Near colorless – G, H, I, J
  • Distinct color – K through Z

However, that is where the agreement ends, as both labs do not view the color spectrum in the same way when grading. If you want your engagement ring to also be a good investment, make sure the certification is backed by the GIA.